Nebraska Minor League Baseball
American Assocation

American Association
President:Joe Ryan

East Standings Wins--- Losses- GB Attended Manager
Springfield Cardinals 75 61 -- 99,935 Hal Lanier
Evansville Triplets 61 74 13.5 106,849 Jim Leyland
Iowa Oaks 59 77 16 126,981 Pete Ward/Sam Ewing
Indianapolis Indians 58 77 16.5 180,483 Jim Beauchamp

West Standings
Denver Bears 92 44 -- 565,214 Billy Gardner
Oklahoma City 89ers 70 65 21.5 200,938 Jim Snyder
Omaha Royals 66 70 26 159,113 Joe Sparks
Wichita Aeros 61 74 30.5 101,108 Jack Hiatt

BA:Tim Raines, Denver, .354
Runs:Randy Bass, Denver, 106
Hits: Manny Castillo, Omaha, 173
RBIs:Randy Bass, Denver, 143
HRs:Randy Bass, Denver, 37
Wins:Steven Ratzer, Denver, 15
SOs:Bruce Berenyi, Indianapolis, 121
ERA:Alan Olmsted, Springfield, 2.77

Joe Sparks was named manager of the Royals for the 1980 season. He had started the 1979 season as a coach of the Chicago White Sox and finished the season with the Iowa Oaks. He started his professional career with the Hastings Giants in 1956. He was a regular at third base and averaged .255 for the year. A West Virginia native, he led the Nebraska State League in assists and tied for the top in double plays. In 1958 he had 14 home runs playing for Danville in the Carolina League. In 1959 he played for Eugene and had 17 home runs and in 1960 he batted .308 for Eugene. 1961 saw him in Springfield in the Eastern League where he also hit .308. He also played for two seasons with Tacoma in the Pacific Coast League. In 1970 he began his managing career with Duluth-Superior in the Northern League. He was manager of the year in the Midwest League in 1971. He was manager of the Royals through the 1983 season and managed the Royals to a Western Division championship in 1981 and 1982.

Nebraska Minor League Baseball Home