Nebraska Minor League Baseball
Western League "D"

The Nebraska State League changed its name to the Western League as the former league folded. It was a class "D" league like the NSL while the former Western League was a class "A" league.
1940 was not a good year for the league. Four teams started the season. Sioux City moved to Mitchell on July 21st. Norfolk took the league title but Sioux Falls won the playoffs four games to two.

Western League (NSL)
Standings 1940
President: Roy Carter
Standings Wins--- Losses- GB
Norfolk Yankees (NYY) 73 39 --
Sioux Falls Canaries 59 58 16 ½
Worthington Cardinals (STL) 50 59 21 ½
Sioux City Soos/Mitchell Kernels 44 70 30

BA: John Lucas, Worthington, .356
Runs: T. Duby Norfolk, 112
Hits: Leo Bohanan, Sioux Falls, 158
RBI's: Fred Schenk, Norfolk, 97
HRs: Russell Burns, Norfolk, 17
Wins: Frank Wagner, Sioux Falls, 17
SOs: Frank Wagner, Sioux Falls, 193
ERA: Fred Whales, Norfolk, 1.36

The league went to a quarter system in 1940. Norfolk won the first, second and fourth quarter, with Sioux Falls winning the third. The Yankees finished the season with an eight game winning streak while Sioux Falls lost six of their last seven.

The Yankees were managed by "Doc" Bennett. This was their third straight championship season under his management. He also managed three straight champions from 1928-1930 at McCook.

The All Star team was dominated by Norfolk with three of the four infielders coming from the Yankees.

Norfolk Yankees 1940 Western League Regular Season Champions

Western League All Star Team 1940

Nebraska Minor League Baseball Home