Nebraska Minor League Baseball
Nebraska State League
Grand Island 1928-1932; 1937-1938

Grand Island was one of the charter teams in the third iteration of the Nebraska State League in 1928. The city had been a part of the two year Nebraska League stint in 1922-23 and part of the Tri-State league in 1924. The team went through a number of different nick names during their tenure. The franchise folded after the 1932 season as the depression wreaked havoc with all minor leagues. The club reformed under different management for the 1937 and 1938 seasons but chose not to continue with the move to the class "D" Western League for 1939.

The Grand Island franchise was not particularly successful at first. Second division finishes were the rule in 1928 and 1929. In 1930 they moved to third place but were still 23 ½ games out of first place. 1931 was a championship year for the Islanders. Led by Roy Kippert at the plate and Robert Pickering on the mound, they were first in the regular season and beat North Platte in the playoffs four games to one. Beatrice and Norfolk replaced them in 1932 at the head of the league. Poor attendance and other financial difficulties caused the team to fold at the end of the year. The league survived with four teams from 1933 through 1935. In 1936 the league expanded to six teams and in 1937 Grand Island rejoined the league as a 1930's version of a St. Louis Cardinals farm club. Their last place finish in 1937 and next to last finish in 1938 once again led to the collapse of the franchise.

They rejoined the professional ranks in 1956 as a farm club of Athletics. This fourth Nebraska State League lasted from 1956 through the 1959 seasons.

Grand Island Champions 1928

Grand Island Islanders 1929

Grand Island Islanders 1930

Grand Island Islanders 1931

Grand Island Islanders 1932

Grand Island RedBirds 1937

Grand Island Cardinals 1938

Nebraska Minor League Baseball Home