Baseball in Nebraska
Fields of Green

From Clarence Mitchell field in Aurora Nebraska to Sam Crawford field in Wahoo, Nebraska has an impressive number of quality baseball diamonds. This is a photo archive and impressions of various baseball fields in Nebraska. This is an ongoing project to document the various diamonds in Nebraska. From the Nebraska State League diamonds in 1910 to the Nebraska Night League in the 1950's to the newest parks being built today this is an ode to the fields of green in Nebraska.

With the recent resurgence in semi-pro/amateur baseball as demonstrated by the growth of the Nebraska Baseball Association and the continued strong showing of American Legion baseball in the summer the baseball fields of Nebraska are busy with the sweet sounds of baseball.

Most of the Nebraska diamonds today are used by high school legion and semi-pro teams. Nebraska has hosted the American Legion National Championship series on seven different occasions. These seven championships include one in Fontenelle Park in Omaha, two at Municipal Stadium (later called Rosenblatt), and four times at Duncan Field in Hastings.

Antelope Park, Lincoln Nebraska
Opening Day 1911
Image courtesy Dan Bretta
Ainsworth Albion Allen Nebraska Alma
Atkinson Auburn Tushla Field Clarence Mitchell Field
Aurora Nebraska
Bancroft Beatrice Athletic Park Bennington
Lynn R. Pruess
Brule Burwell
Central City Kernel Field Chadron Chappell Buckley Field Columbus Pawnee Park
Crete Doniphan Elkhorn Legion Fairbury Quinn Field
Falls City Fremont Moller Field Geneva Grand Island Ryder Park
Gordon Kiwanis Field Hastings Duncan Field Holdrege Fairgrounds Park Humboldt
Kearney Memorial Field Lincoln Before Antelope Park Lincoln Antelope Park
Lincoln Landis Field
Lincoln Sherman Field
Lincoln Haymarket Park
McCool Junction Nebraska City Baseball Diamonds
Neligh Harold Cole Field Norfolk Memorial North Bend North Platte Buffalo Park
Octavia Ogallala Legion Field Omaha Brown Park Omaha Fontenelle Park
Omaha Seymour Smith Omaha Baseball before Rourke Park Omaha Rourke Park (League Park)
Omaha Rosenblatt Stadium O'Neill, Fred Appleby Field Paddock Panama
E. A. Fricke Field
Papillion NE
Dave Nitzschke Field
Pender NE
Heyne Memorial Field
Pender NE
Orval Smith Field
Ralston NE
Illian Field Red Cloud Riverdale Rushville
Scotia Schuyler Merchant Park Spear Memorial Field
Scribner NE "The Hog Yard"
Seward Nebraska Plum Creek Park
Sidney Legion Field Staplehurst Nebraska Panther Field Stromsburg; Don Norberg Field Superior; Brodstone Memorial Stadium
Tilden Richie Ashburn Field Valentine
Veterans Memorial Ballpark
Valley Wahoo Sam Crawford Field
Wakefield Eaton Field Waterloo Hank Overin Field
Wayne NE
West Point Anderson Memorial Field
Wisner York Levitt Stadium at East Hill Park York Nebraska Park's Park
Yutan Nebraska Itan Park

Baseball in Beatrice circa 1910. Beatrice had a town team since the late 1800's. They acquired a Nebraska State League franchise during the 1913 season after a tornado damaged Seward and the State League team in Seward needed a new home.

Nebraska Minor League Baseball Home